They’re here! The Barbie Museum Collection

As a birthday gift for myself, I ordered the three dolls from the Barbie Collector Museum Collection, and these arrived last night!

Fanboys have their action figures; I collect Barbie dolls! I don’t have a lot, and I only buy the ones I like, but they all reign atop my shelf at home.


And yes, they’re NRFB. 😉

 

After virtually calling every toy store in Manila last August to no avail (What? You only have one set and someone bought them already?!), I decided to order them online. It actually turned out for the better, because 1) the markup of each doll sold locally is HUGE and 2) buying all 3 got me eligible for free shipping! My relatives in LA kindly received these for me and sent ’em over in their annual balikbayan box haul.

The first doll is inspired by Vincent van Gogh’s The Starry Night. It’s one of the most recognizable paintings in the world and continues to be a favorite of mine.


Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night (source)

 

I love how the doll incorporated the Cypress tree in the dress and how Barbie’s earrings & shoes have the stars the way van Gogh painted them.

 

The second doll is inspired by Leonardo da Vinci’s Mona Lisa. Like van Gogh’s painting above, this is one of the most famous and viewed paintings in the universe.


Leonardo da Vinci, Mona Lisa (source)

 

Over at the Barbie website, they muse about imagining how the rest of Mona Lisa’s outfit looked like in this painting. They took inspiration from the Italian Renaissance fashion during the 1500s. Upon seeing the doll, my sister loudly wondered, “Why does she have eyebrows?” Hmmm…

 

The third doll in this wonderful collection is inspired by Art Nouveau artist Gustav Klimt and his painting entitled Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I. Klimt’s technique in many of his paintings used gold leaf, giving his works a shiny and rich finish.


Gustav Klimt, Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I (source)

 

Klimt’s original painting of Adele had a lot of detail, and it was amazing to see it faithfully reproduced in the doll.

 

Yay! Happy birthday to me! Let’s hope there’ll be more dolls added to the collection!

Photos of paintings from Artchive. Photos of Barbie dolls against white background from barbiecollector.com.
Squeak back!

