Nix Puno: Little Wonder

Two Saturdays ago, I got to visit Trilogy Boutique for the first time to check out the launch of my boyfriend’s sister’s friend, Nix Puno. Entitled Little Wonder, the paintings exhibited are described as “part of a bigger context, a larger picture not yet seen — a tiny detail in an eventually beautiful plan.”

He even quotes Psalm 139 verses 1-5 as inspiration for this body of work:

You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.


Little Wonder

 

You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.


Passionately Wait

 

You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.


Come out, come out the war is over

 

Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely.


Well if Joe says so

 

You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me.


Versus

 

When we got to talk to him over dinner, he was telling us how he used a different shade of white to draw the eye to specific parts of his paintings. Nix used a warmer shade of white overall, but he experimented using a different shade around his neatly drawn shoes, for example.


Little wonder (details)

 

It was only when his paintings were put up that he and others saw how effective this technique became. The halo-like effect makes his subjects pop out more, and we get to appreciate the little wonders within his canvasses. Divine Intervention indeed. 😉

Trilogy Boutique is located along Rada Street in Makati. His exhibit runs until August 19.

2 thoughts on “Nix Puno: Little Wonder

Squeak back!

